"ॐ तत्पुरुषाय विद्ध्महे महादेवाय धिमाही तन्नो रूद्र: प्रचोदयात!!!"

Symbols of Shiva Murti

Shiva or Shankar means auspiciousness, favourable, propitious, gracious, kind, benign, benevolent and friendly. In the Shiva Puran the One thousand names of Shiva are mentioned. Some of these well known names are:

MAHADEV- The great God.
BHAIRAV-The Terrible.
MAHAKAAL-Mighty time.
TRILOCHAN-The three-eyed.
TRIPURAARI - The enemy of Lust, Hatred and Anger.
NEELKANTHA-The blue throated.
CHANDRASHEKAR-The moon crested.
GANGAADHAR - The bearer of Ganga.
GRIRISH - The Lord of the mountains.
HAR - The seizer.
PASHUPATI - The Lord of animals.
VISHWANATH -The Lord of the Universe. These names represent the Exploits, States or Attributes.

Other Meanings 

COLOUR: White represents purity, absence of darkness and triumph of wisdom over ignorance.

THREE-EYES : Knowledge of past, present and future. Third eye is that of knowledge.

MATTED HAIR : The vastness of space.

TIGER SKIN : Destruction of animalistic tendencies. Complete mastery over lower desires.

GANGA : Flow of knowledge.

SERPENT MALA : Fearlessness and longevity.

CRESCENT MOON : Sharpness of Intellect and controller of Time.

DAMARU : Originator of all sounds.

TRISHUL : Three gunas-rajo, saatwa and tamo. Lord Shiva transcends the three gunas.



Unknown said...

Sir please tell me about lord sharbheshwara katha is true or not?

Unknown said...

Jai shiv

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Indiae: India's search engine IndiBlogger - The Largest Indian Blogger Community Blog Expat: living abroad Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 India License.